Bane co-creator and artist Graham Nolan will join writer Jon Del Arroz and Arkhaven Comics by providing a cover for their upcoming graphic adaptation of Richard Fox’s The Ember War.

Arkhaven Comics Jon Del Arroz, artist Jethro Morales, and colorist Emmanuel Torres will launch an IndieGoGo fundraiser for the project on September 18th. The adaptation will be a 120 page graphic novel that will be separated into five 24 page issues.

The Ember War

Writer Jon Del Arroz informed us that the first two issues are already completed and he has already begun work on the third one.

For those unfamiliar with The Ember War by Richard Fox, the original novel spawned an entire saga that is currently up to nine books. Fox, who is a 10 year veteran of the U.S. Army describes the book as “Battlestar Galactica meets Mass Effect…It is a story of first contact with galactic empires, some with our best interests at heart, others that see us as an infestation to be wiped out.”

The Ember War

Here’s the description of The Ember War novel from Amazon:

“The Earth is doomed. Humanity has a chance. 

In the near future, an alien probe arrives on Earth with a pivotal mission—determine if humanity has what it takes to survive the impending invasion by a merciless armada.

The probe discovers Marc Ibarra, a young inventor, who holds the key to a daring gambit that could save a fraction of Earth’s population. Humanity’s only chance lies with Ibarra’s ability to keep a terrible secret and engineer the planet down the narrow path to survival.

Earth will need a fleet. One with a hidden purpose. One strong enough to fight a battle against annihilation.”

Jon Del Arroz praised the novel:

The Ember War itself is a masterpiece of military science fiction. When I first read the book I immediately messaged Fox with, ‘Wow this reads just like a movie.’ And it does. It’s fast paced sci-fi action with an incredibly epic plot and memorable characters. If I were in Hollywood, I’d be optioning this for a film immediately. It’s really that good.”

The Ember War

The book is described as an epic military sci-fi series in the vein of John Ringo’s A Hymn Before Battle and Vaughn Heppner’s The Last Starship. The novel currently sits in the top 100 books in Amazon’s Space Fleet category and is just outside the top 100 in the Space Marine category.

Take a look at Bane co-creator Graham Nolan’s cover for the book:

The Ember War cover by Graham Nolan

The Ember War cover by Graham Nolan

As far as what you can expect from the IndieGoGo there will be a number of stretch goals and different types of perks.

Perks

$20 gets you a PDF version of The Ember War.

$25 gets you a T-shirt of Graham Nolan’s cover for The Ember War.

$25 can also get you a poster of Nolan’s cover.

$25 gets you an exclusive military-style Ember War challenge coin.

$35 gets you the soft cover graphic novel version of The Ember War.

$75 gets you a limited edition hardcover version of The Ember War graphic novel. This is limited to 500 units.

$110 gets you a soft cover graphic novel version of The Ember War as well as a signed hardcover plus the PDF version.

$150 gets you the PDF, the limited edition hardcover, the t-shirt, poster, and challenge coin.

$150 gets you a hardcover version of The Ember War with a special introduction by author Richard Fox and writer Jon Del Arroz. Both writers will also sign this edition.

$1000 gets your named added to a future Richard Fox novel. In fact, you will die in a horrible, yet honorable way. This is limited to 5 backers.

$2500 allows you to die in an upcoming novel specifically in the final battle for the alien Crucible. You will also be able to consult to have your name and likeness included in an upcoming The Ember War comic. This is also limited to 5 backers.

Stretch Goals

There will be at least one stretch goal to increase the page count to 150 pages.

Jon Del Arroz and Arkhaven Comics are aiming to raise $15,000 to fund the project.

Will you be backing this latest project from Arkhaven Comics and Jon Del Arroz?

(Visited 262 times, 1 visits today)

About The Author

John F. Trent

John is the Editor here at Bounding Into Comics. He is a massive Washington Capitals fan, lover of history, and likes to dabble in economics and philosophy.

Related Posts