This winter, Valiant will be pairing up with Hastings to host “Comics College” sessions. The sessions will be educational workshops exploring the comic book industry with Valiant writers and artists every week. The writers and artists will appear via video seminars. “Comics College” begins on January 30th at 2pm ET and runs for about a month with new episodes every Saturday until February 20th.

The episodes will give an inside look at the process of creating comics from start to finish. They plan on discussing everything from getting your first big break to the finer points of portfolio reviews for artists and editors alike.

Valiant will also be giving attendees a shot at making their first professional published comics debut. During the approximate month long event, “Comics College” participants are encouraged to illustrate and submit their favorite Valiant comics character in a captivating scene of their own choosing. Valiant will choose a winner which will then be published as the official art for the Hastings’ exclusive variant cover for the Valiant: 4001 A.D. Free Comic Book Day Special.

Fred Van Lente, Robert Venditti, Jody Houser, and David Baron will be the guests for the four sessions. Those four sessions include:

WEEK ONE – HOW TO WRITE COMICS
Fred Van Lente (Writer, Archer & Armstrong; Ivar, Timewalker)
January 30th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK TWO – HOW COMICS ARE MADE
Robert Venditti (Writer, X-O Manowar; Wrath of the Eternal Warrior)
February 6th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK THREE – HOW TO BREAK INTO COMICS
Jody Houser (Writer, Faith)
February 13th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK FOUR – PORTFOLIO REVIEW
David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn)
February 20th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

Contact your local Hastings location or visit GoHastings.com/ComicsCollege for more details and complete contest guidelines