For the first time in its over 20 year history, Dark Horse will publish a Hellboy Omnibus Collection that will collect every single Hellboy story in chronological order.

Hellboy and the Right Hand of Doom began all the way back in 1994 when Mike Mignola released the first Hellboy series, Seed of Destruction. Hellboy and the Bureau of Paranormal Research and Defense (B.P.R.D.) have gone on a number of adventures including facing his supposed destiny as Beast of the Apocalypse. Those stories will now be collected in chronological order in the Hellboy Omnibus Collection.

The Hellboy Omnibus Collection will include every single Hellboy story written and illustrated by Mike Mignola. It will also include The Wild Hunt storyline written by Mignola with art by Duncan Fegredo. The Wild Hunt storyline is the basis for the upcoming Hellboy film starring David Harbour and being directed by Neil Marshall. These stories will be published in four Hellboy Omnibus volumes.

Dark Horse will also publish two separate volumes of Hellboy: The Complete Short Stories with works by Richard Corben , Gabriel Bá, and Fábio Moon.

Mike Mignola was excited about the project, “I’m very excited to finally have all the Hellboy stories collected in chronological order. And I’m especially excited to have the three Duncan Fegredo books—all the stuff with Alice and the Queen of Blood—together in one collection for the first time.”

Each of these six books will feature new cover art by Mignola and Eisner award-winning colorist Dave Stewart.

Hellboy Omnibus Vol. 1: Seed of Destruction

The first Hellboy Omnibus Collection, Hellboy Omnibus Volume 1: Seed of Destruction will be available in comic stores on May 23rd and June 5 in bookstores. This book will detail Hellboy’s mysterious World War II origin to his 1994 confrontation with the man who summoned him to earth, and the earliest signs of the plague of frogs. It will also showcase his work with the B.P.R.D. as he fights alongside Abe Sapien, Liz Sherman, and Roger Homunculus. The book will be 368 pages long. It will contain Seed of Destruction, Wake the Devil, and “Wolves of St August,” “The Chained Coffin,” and “Almost Colossus,” from The Chained Coffin, and The Right Hand of Doom.

Hellboy: The Complete Short Stories Volume 1

Then Hellboy: The Complete Short Stories Volume 1 will be available in the Summer of 2018. This collection features 16 standalone stories that can be read in any order. The stories take a look at Hellboy’s fifty years of adventuring with the B.P.R.D. before he faced his supposed destiny as the Beast of the Apocalypse. This volume will contain “The Crooked Man,” Double Feature of Evil,” “Hellboy in Mexico,” and “The Corpse.” It will also include stories from The Chained Coffin, The Right Hand of Doom, The Bride of Hell, The Crooked Man, The Troll Witch, and The Midnight Circus.

Also debuting in the summer of 2018 will be Hellboy Omnibus Volume 2: Strange Places. In this 416-page volume, you can find Hellboy’s adventures from 1998 to 2005 with Conqueror Worm, Strange Places, Into the Silent Sea, and “The Right Hand of Doom,” “Box Full of Evil,” and “Being Human” from The Right Hand of Doom and and B.P.R.D. Being Human.

Hellboy Omnibus Volume 3: The Wild Hunt

Hellboy Omnibus Volume 3: The Wild Hunt will drop in the Fall of 2018. The 512-page volume will collect Mike Mignola and Duncan Fegredo’s complete trilogy for the first time. It will reprint Darkness Calls, The Wild Hunt and The Storm and the Fury. It will also include the short story “The Mole.” This omnibus will collect the inspiration for the upcoming movie that sees Hellboy make a deal with the Russian Witch, the Baba Yaga, and confront the truth about his destiny. It’s a story that wipes England off the map and sets in motion the end of the world with the human race and King Arthur’s sword Excalibur hanging in the balance.

Hellboy: The Complete Short Stories Vol. 2 will also debut in the Fall of 2018. It will include: “The Hydra and the Lion,” “The Troll Witch,” “The Baba Yaga,” “The Sleeping and the Dead,” “Heads,” “Goodbye Mister Tod,” “The Vârcolac,” “The Vampire of Prague,” “The Bride of Hell,” “The Whittier Legacy,” “Buster Oakley Gets His Wish,” “They That Go Down to the Sea in Ships,” “A Christmas Underground”, “Dr. Carp’s Experiment,” “The Ghoul,” “In the Chapel of Moloch,” and “Makoma.”

Finally, Hellboy Omnibus Volume 4: Hellboy in Hell will drop in the Winter of 2018. It will include Hellboy in Hell, The Exorcist of Vorsk, and The Magician and the Snake.


  • About The Author

    John F. Trent
    Founder and Editor-in-Chief

    John is the Editor-in-Chief here at Bounding Into Comics. He is a massive Washington Capitals fan, lover of history, and likes to dabble in economics and philosophy.